RICCARDO 4 RIHANNA

Having previously been responsible for Mandonna’s Super Bowl costumes, in all their leathery Grecian glory, Ricardo Tisci has turned his hand to putting some clothes on now-touring Rihanna. Thank you, universe.

I’m not a Rihanna fan, I mean I’ll have a lil bop if something comes on whilst I’m out, but her whole “I’m not a role model, I’m my own person, look at me dragging my fanny across the floor and smoking weed, I’m mad me!” schtick winds me up. I am however, a big Givenchy fan. My first three designer purchases were all Givenchy (and not a Rottweiler in sight) so I’m excited to see the costumes, even if I’d rather they were on ABBA.

The outfits will apparently be heavily influenced by sportswear and streetwear elements mixed with “haute couture techniques”. So far, so optimistic. Tisci has said of the collaboration, “Rihanna represents what young and amazing means today. She is punk and talented. She offers intelligence, energy and pure beauty.” I put this through a ‘PR bullshit translator’, and this is what he meant to say. “Rihanna represents what young and stupid means today, commercial and over-produced. She offers a smacked out moral compass, paper chasing and a well paid stylist.” Glad we cleared that one up.

I’ll add more photos when I can find them, but for now here’s a first look:

 ImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

